Spa Waters at Home

When I think of spas, I think of relaxation and cucumber water.  From the first time I had cucumber water at the spa, I now automatically relate infused waters to a state of calmness and peace.  Some call these “Detox Waters,” “Infused Waters,” or “Vitamin Waters.”  My personal preference is Spa Waters!  These are really easy to make at home, and they make staying hydrated ever so easy!  For those that do not like the taste of plain water, spa waters are a great way to trick your body into drinking more of it!

Our bodies thrive on fresh water! It is essential for every living cell in our body.  Water helps keep the digestive system moving, flushes out bacteria and toxins, and is the number one way to have glowing clear skin!

Spa Waters on Lipstick and Berries Blog.

Here are some of my favorite combinations:  (These are best once they have infused overnight)

1.  Strawberry Basil:  Add fresh sliced strawberries and basil leaves.  I like to slightly tear the basil leaves to release the oils into the water.  Basil has anti-anxiety and liver detoxifying properties.

2.  Cucumber Melon:  Cucumber contains Vitamin C, Vitamin A, Iron, Calcium, Vitamin K and Potassium. Slice cucumbers and add small chunks of fresh honeydew to your water.  It’s simply wonderful!

3.  Lemon Thyme:  Lemon is a natural diuretic which aids in natural detoxification.  Thyme is an anti-microbal and has been used for years in natural medicine to help respiratory problems.

4.  Raspberry Ginger:  Place fresh raspberries and strips of peeled and sliced fresh ginger into the water.  Ginger is effective in alleviating symptoms of gastrointestinal stress.

5.  Blueberry Lime:  Add lime slices then muddle the blueberries slightly before placing in the water.  Blueberries add a touch of antioxidant sweetness and the lime flushes out toxins.

6.  Orange Mint:  It’s just delicious! Add orange slices and fresh mint to your water.  Mint is a great palate cleanser, and it promotes digestion.

***These can be refilled again!  I like to save my old tea bottles and tomato sauce jars!  They make great on-the-go Spa Water containers!

sig-ash-grey

Do you have a favorite Spa Water?

Comments

  1. nourishbymelissa says:

    my favorite would definitely be lemon cucumber! So refreshing! 🙂

  2. I luv how u reuse glass bottles, we do the same thing! Your infused water combos sound wonderful.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

  3. I absolutely love this idea! I started cutting out soda from my diet a few months ago and have been trying to drink a lot more water. That hasn’t been easy because drinking tap water all day can be quite boring if you are not used to it. The bottles in your picture however look so fun, cute, fresh and clean that it makes me want to drink them all straight away! Great tip, thank you so much!

    By the way Ashley, I have only recently started to follow a vegan diet and you have been SUCH an inspiration.. Your posts are so informative and well-written, your recipes are so delicious and your photographs blow my mind. I have learned so much from you already! You have inspired me to start eating even healthier, the ‘sos-vegan’ way. I love what you do and the positive, happy, energetic feeling I get when I read your posts. Please don’t ever change.
    Also, you are so beautiful I almost can’t believe it. It’s amazing to see what a right lifestyle can do for your body.. You are seriously glowing, girl!!!

    Lots of love from the Netherlands! XOXO

    • Hi there Anna! I hope you enjoy these fun waters! I am sure you’ll find a favorite flavor and come up with some great combinations of your own. I am SO happy to hear that you have started a vegan diet, and what I am even more excited about is that you have chosen to eat a HEALTHY vegan diet. A vegan diet that is free of oil and very low in salt and sugar is the key to nutritional excellence! One book I think you would really enjoy is Super Immunity by Dr. Joel Fuhrman. It is such an awesome and informative book and also contains many SOS-Free recipes. Make sure to check out the other blogs I recommend (listed at the bottom of my FAQ) to find even more sources for oil-free recipes and information. Again, thank you for all your kind words! You definitely made me smile 🙂 Sending love back to you from Las Vegas!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

      • Thank you for making the time to reply and giving such great advice! I’ll definitely read Super Immunity, as soon as I can get my hands on it! 🙂 You continue to inspire me and make me even more excited about this new lifestyle!

  4. Hi there, thanks for this! How many times can I refill untill I have to start a fresh batch? 3 days or more?

  5. Hi Ashely, do you recommend drink this water for pregnant woman?
    Thank you

Trackbacks

  1. […] and then pour into a glass container or mason jar to take with your during the day!  Check out My Spa Waters for more flavor […]

  2. […] we were taking these pictures! Needless to say, we took a break and I made Melanie some of my Spa Water!  Ultimate hydration for an unexpected very humid afternoon in Las […]

  3. […] thought it would be fun to put my “Spa Water” twist on this tea!  I chopped up one small papaya, one small mango, and one orange and placed […]

Leave a comment