Creamy Basil Sauce

Low Fat Creamy Basil Sauce! { vegan * oil-free * Lipstick and Berries }

I was in the mood for a creamy sauce yesterday, but I wanted something that was lower in fat than the usual vegan cream sauces.  Using what I had at the house, I created this Creamy Basil Pesto that is perfect for whole wheat pasta, bean pastas (which I love!), used as a veggie sauce, or it could be delicious mixed into some whipped potatoes!

This is an updated recipe to the creamy sauce I had pictured with my meatless meatballs!  I upped the nutrients by adding baby spinach and more garlic! Yum!

Adjust this to your taste!  I love blended sauces because you can do a little taste test as you go!  This sauce is delicious made with either cashews or avocado.  Enjoy friends!

Ingredients 

1 & 1/2 Cups Non Dairy Milk, unsweetened (Organic Soy/Almond/Hemp)

1/4 Cup Cashews, unsalted (or you can use 1/4-1/2 of a ripe avocado!)

1/4 Cup Minced Onion

1 Tablespoon Dr Fuhrman’s Vegizest (or use another Salt-Free seasoning like Mrs Dash)

4 Teaspoons Minced Garlic

2 Cups Fresh Basil, packed + extra basil for garnish

1-2 Handfuls Baby Spinach

1/4 Teaspoon Himalayan Salt, Optional 

Directions

1.  Add all ingredients, except basil and spinach, into Vitamix or high powered blender.  Blend on high at least 5 minutes or until the blender is warmed and slightly steaming.

2.  Once the sauce is warmed, add the basil and spinach and continue to blend on high for another minute. 

**You can also heat this over stovetop (instead of heating in blender). 

sig-ash-grey 

Leave a comment