Upcoming Recipe Collab + Forks Over Knives Event!

This was a very eventful weekend!! I spent most of my time in the kitchen and at Panevino Ristorante!  Why, you ask?? Let me show you!

Well, a few months back I met a great girl through Instagram, Yvonne Ardestani, and we decided it would be really fun to get together and do a recipe collaboration!  Since the festive season is upon us…we decided it would be super cool to make healthy Halloween treats!  Yvonne is a vegan chef and she studied culinary arts at Le Cordon Bleu.  She’s fantastic!!  (On a side note, Yvonne put all her vegan skills to great use by creating an all Plant Based Vegan Recipe App called My Eclectic Kitchen…it’s packed with over 100 yummy recipes.)

recipepreptext

photo 3-1

 Chef Yvonne is blending some green goodness!!!! Our Vitamix got a royal workout all day!

photo 1-5

Soon to be Frozen and Floating Ice Hands in a Punch Bowl!! They look like odd udders right now.  Kind of creepy.

photo 2-5

 Chef’s cupcakes are in the works!! Did someone say, Cardamon-Pistachio-Orange Zest Cupcakes?? 🙂

photo 1-6

 I am not really sure what I am doing here…oh yeah…candied apples!  HA!  I say there is no reason to be in the kitchen unless you are having fun!  We can’t wait to share this “Candied Apple” recipe with you!

applecollage Candied Apple Photo Shoot Time!!! Hey we had to indulge a little!! It looks like the candied apple held a dual purpose for me…Microphone & Food.

photo 2-1

 I spy Kabocha Squash AND a fancy-smancy Pink Knife…Lipstick and Berries’ style!

girlsnightouttext

One of my favorite restaurants in Vegas is Panevino. Our friend, Vincenzo Granata, is a fellow vegan and he is passionate for a low fat vegan diet just like we are.   Vincenzo makes us all kinds of low fat, yummilicious plant based food! Obsessed.

photo 2-6

 Friday night after our recipe prep day, it was IMPERATIVE that I take Yvonne to experience Panevino too! My other girlfriend, Bonnie (who is also a Vegas Vegan), met us!!

photo 1

 Check it out! Vegan Italian Sushi! Nom.

photo 2

 Another beautiful plate and Vincenzo’s mother’s Italian Recipe for a Chestnut Chocolate Cake.  Aww!  Unique, Delicious, and Memorable!  It was a perfect evening!

While I am on the subject of Panevino, I wanted to share with you these beautiful and delicious photos from my Thursday evening girls night with my girlfriend, Mariann!

I KNOW!!! Back-To-Back Vegan Ladies’ Night Out!!  EEkkkk!  Pretty awesome!

photo 2-7

 Isn’t Mariann gorgeous? She’s just as beautiful inside as she is outside.

photo 1-7

Check out these Eggplant Wrapped Hummus Rolls (oil-free!) over Red Cabbage! By the way, Vincenzo wrote a bad ass article on why oil is NOT healthy for you…read it HERE!

photo 3-6

 Vincenzo made us Vegan Chocolate Pudding with a gorgeous Fruit Gel Design!! LOVE!

fokeventtext

photo 5

A group in Las Vegas called the Las Vegan Eatz organized the Forks Over Knives Meal Plan Cookbook Event.  Panevino hosted!  How fun & convenient!  🙂

photo 2

I am so happy D was able to come with us!  His first vegan event!  I am so proud of him!  He has made such an incredible transition to a plant based lifestyle AND he’s a SUPER TROOPER!

photo 2

 Score! FORKS OVER KNIVES!! Who’s got Healthy Books??!! WE DO!!!! 

photo 5

 Yvonne with Matt Lederman, MD and Alona Pulde, MD.

photo 5

 Chef Del Sroufe!  Super cool dude and he created tons of recipes in the book!

photo 4

 Hello Del!  Seriously…How jolly is he?  Love him!

photo 4-2

We loaded up!  Vegetable Soup, Green Salad with an Oil-Free, Low Fat Dressing!  Low Fat Creamy Spinach Pizza (my fave), and Tomato Chickpea Pasta Shells! All recipes from the book!

photo 3

Dessert & Hand Modeling Time! Chocolate Raspberry Parfaits!  So pretty!

photo 1

What a Plant Based Power Couple!  Love these two! Matthew Lederman, MD and his beautiful wife Alona Pulde, MD.  Dr Lederman presented a great lecture in my eCornell T. Colin Campbell Certification Plant Based Nutrition Certification Course.

photo 1

Alone Pulde, MD signing my book.  She is and her husband (above) both developed lifestyle and health changes for patients in the FOK documentary as well as wrote the meal plan FOK book.

photo 3

 Getting my book signed by FOK producer/director Brian Wendel.

10672297_780158185360141_8458320696263658450_n

 Look at those handsome Veggie Men! 🙂  That’s Danny, Vincenzo, and our Plant Based Medical Doctor, Dr. Allen!

photo 1FOKdoctext

 

sig-ash-grey

 

Comments

  1. I have watched it about a year ago and went vegan for about 2 months. It got to hard to go out to eat or go to friends or family for dinner because no one else was vegan. Very time consuming shopping and cooking. You make me want to try it again.

    • Hi Nina! I am happy you have watched the documentary…it is SO enlightening. Do you live in a small town? I have found that most cities I visit have vegan restaurants, or if not, they have may items on the menu that can be arranged to fit the plant based diet. Surprisingly, steakhouses are one of the easiest places to eat vegan in a town where “vegan-friendly” restaurants are not the norm. Steakhouses usually have regular potatoes and sweet potatoes, steamed asparagus, broccoli, carrots, and large salads. Eat a large salad with balsamic vinegar, a couple big sweet potatoes, and a side of cruciferous. Voila, a totally healthy vegan restaurant in the midst of all that steak!! Also asian/thai restaurants have lots of mixed veggies and rice. If you are feeling inspired, I would certainly give a plant based diet another shot. It is only difficult if you make it be. Don’t worry if your friends and family are eating other things out at the restaurant. Your diet is about YOU, not them. Focus on what foods heal YOUR body and take care of yourself first. Focus on what you CAN eat and not what you CAN’T. As far as cooking for yourself, I will agree with you that sometimes a plant based diet can be more time consuming…yes, we cannot go through a drive through restaurant or swing by the grocery store and pick up a rotisserie chicken and deli potato salad…I do set aside a little more time in my schedule to make time for my dietary changes. In return for spending a little more time at the grocery store or in the kitchen…I gain time from not having frequent doctor visits anymore, I gain time because I am not sick anymore, and I gain time because my diet changes have led me to a more positive attitude and mindset – I am more productive, on point, and I am efficient because my body is alive!

      If you haven’t yet, please read my two blog posts…one on Tips For Starting A Plant Based Diet https://lipstickandberries.wordpress.com/2014/01/01/tips-for-starting-a-plant-based-diet/

      …and How To Eat A Plant Based Diet On A Budget
      https://lipstickandberries.wordpress.com/2014/04/01/how-to-eat-a-plant-based-diet-on-a-budget/

      I hope this helps! 🙂

      XOXO,
      Ashley

  2. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    Wonderful information and evening. You look great. I am proud of you.😘

  3. I heard about this book! That’s so cool you were able to meet the authors!  I bet the food was delish, and the plant based power couple are awesome!  I want some of that Veggie Sushi!!

  4. I love your dress in the last picture!! Where did you get it?

Leave a Reply

