My Daily Morning Yoga Stretches!


IMG_0981

After I wake up in the mornings and have a big glass of water, the next thing I do is my morning stretches.  I love waking up early (although I’m not always up as early as I would like to be) and feeling the fresh morning air and stretching my body!

Stretching is just as important as exercise!  It is important to not skip a stretch routine and bypass it for our “regular workout routine.”

STRETCHING HELPS:

Improve Our Range of Motion

Assists in Correct Posture

Increases Blood & Nutrient Supply to Muscles

Depending on how much time I have, I do a simple 5-10 minutes of stretches, and my basic routine is the Yoga Sun Salutation.  The Sun Salutation is a series of simple yoga postures that provide a nice cardio workout and promote mind/body health.

Each person’s Sun Salutation may vary slightly.  Below is my personal salutation posture series!

IMG_0904

 Mountain pose: Start by bringing your feet and legs together.  Make sure your heels are rooted and firm your legs. Then, roll your shoulders back and down and spread and lift your chest.

IMG_0908

 

IMG_0913

Extended Mountain pose: Inhale through your nose and raise your arms up to the side. Extend your arms above your head with your hands in prayer position.

IMG_0919

 

IMG_0924

Swan dive to forward bend:  Bend your knees if you have tight hamstrings. Exhale through your nose. Open your arms wide and bend at your waist with a flat back to a standing forward bend. Touch the floor is you can, if not, touch the front of the ankles.

IMG_0928

Plank pose: Inhale and take your shoulders forward directly over your wrists.  Extend well with your arms to form this position. Keep your thighs strong and firm, your feet flexed and remember to keep your tummy tight!

IMG_0934

Chatarunga: Exhale and bend your knees to the floor and then lower your chest and chin to the floor. Keep your chest open and your elbows close to the side of your ribcage. The goal is to hold your body and hover over the ground.  This one is tough, but you can do it!!

IMG_0949

 Cobra: Inhale and raise your upper body to the cobra pose. (This one is my favorite, it feels so amazing!) Roll your shoulders back and extend the shoulder blades down and press them in towards the chest. Your chest should be lifted and open and elbows should stay close to the body. Make sure to lift up your knee caps and firm your thighs.

IMG_0953

Downward Dog: Spread your fingers and press your palms into the ground, they should be shoulder width apart. Now, lift your hips up towards the sky.  Lengthening the spine!  Gently straighten your legs, pressing your heels down into the ground as far as you can go.

IMG_0961

Jump through and begin series again!!  Do this series at least 5 times or more!! 🙂  You will be amazed at how awesome you feel afterwards!!  Start off your day right!!!

{Sun Salutation Photos by Melanie of MJ Black Photography}

{Activewear by Margarita}

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. What a fabulous intro to yoga! Peeps will love! And you look fab! As usual #SistaSoul

Trackbacks

  1. […] and fun music at my house, and all that equals a free workout anytime.  I start my morning with my Sun Salutation, then I either go for a quick run, a zumba class, at-home workout ball exercises, or I just turn on […]

Leave a Reply

