Merry Mondays: Be Yourself!

Liveyourlife

As we age, I believe this is so important.  The saying, “You are only as old as you feel,” is actually very true.  I know 20 year olds who act like they are 60 and 60 year olds who are vivacious and who live like a spring chicken!! 🙂 It’s only in our mentality.  I will never get old…why?  I may start to show my age physically…I may show more laugh lines, more age spots, and my hair may start to thin…but I will never grow old in my spirit and start believing that I’m too old to live this beautiful life!  I live my life and I don’t worry about what other people think about me.  I surround myself with positive people who laugh a lot and I don’t let anyone’s perception of what I should be affect me!  I suggest you do the same!

I am 28, but I still love Hello Kitty, sparkle, and all things girly.  It is just a part of me!  Maybe Hello Kitty is for 5 year olds, but Hello Kitty is my hero and if that little cat makes me smile, then I’m all for it.

It is really interesting and funny to me sometimes to read comments from people on social media.  People are so judgmental and catty, and it makes me sad for humanity.  Many people automatically judge because they think someone is not acting the way THEY think that person should be acting.  Who are we to judge someone else?  I’ve had people say to me, “You are too old to color your hair pink,” or “You are a bad influence because you wear makeup.” HAHA, really? Have you checked my blog name out lately?  It is called Lipstick and Berries…not Birkenstock and Berries.  (Lol I could go on. Sometimes, I secretly wish there was a middle finger emojii).

The point is that each of us needs to be who want to be, when we want to be it, at whatever age!  There are no age guidelines anymore.  We should all do what makes us happy, and if that’s wearing a tiara around the house at the age of 50, then GO FOR IT!

Wear what you want to wear, go places you want to see, take chances, and remember that the people you surround yourself with play a huge role in the way you feel!  Birds of a feather flock together!  Debbie downers hang out with other debbie downers – misery loves company, and negativity will bring you down baby!!  Suround yourself with people of ANY age, just as long as they are positive and you will be young at heart for an eternity!

peacesignrainbow

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    Great blog post! Excellent advice ! I love to read it!

  2. healthandus says:

    Why blend in, when you can stand out!! Keep it up girl! Its what people love about you.

  3. I love what you do. Don’t listen to anyone! You are a great inspiration to me. I’m always happy to read you blog and try recipes. I love your advice and your style!

  4. Brenda Fletcher says:

    Yes a great post!!!! And so true.

  5. Love your post. You make me smile everyday and boost my mood. Thanks

  6. Cheers!

  7. Candycoatedliving says:

    Fab advice. I tok feel sad for humanity when random unknown folk begin pointing the finger of judgement! Why can’t people understand to live and let live!!
    God bless x

  8. I agree 100%! You are as old as you feel!!! Love your post!!!

Leave a Reply

