Mango Tomato Salsa

The easiest, yummiest summer salsa ever! Fat Free Mango Tomato Salsa! #plantbasedrecipes #appetizer #vegan #healthyrecipes

My whole family is addicted to this salsa!  This recipe combines a few of my favorite foods:  tomatoes, mango, & cilantro!  Triple YUM!   This recipe is delicious with a great tortilla chip, or I think it would be really great over black or refried beans.  While hanging out at the pool this summer, I was seriously craving some dip and I didn’t want a fatty dip like guacamole.  A light tomato based dip was perfect for a summer afternoon.  This recipe was inspired by one of my used-to-be favorite salsas in the grocery store…the Peach Mango Salsa.  I decided to make mine a Mango-only version because mangoes are available almost year round as opposed to peaches.  I love making homemade salsa because I can use fresh ingredients and also adjust the spiciness factor to what I prefer (which is zero spicy haha)!  I also love that homemade salsas can be free of refined sugar (the mangoes add tons of natural sweetness) and low in sodium!  Plus, did I mention how easy this is?!  I love snacks that are healthy.  Now my mouth is watering and I need to make some more!

Ingredients

4 Roma Tomatoes, chopped

1/4 of a Small Sweet Onion, chopped

1/2 Ripe Mango, chopped

4 Teaspoons Lime Juice

1 Tablespoon Cilantro, chopped

1 & 1/2 Teaspoons Minced Garlic

Black Pepper and/or Pink Salt to taste (optional)

Pinch of Cayenne Pepper or other hot peppers of your choice (optional)

Directions

1.  Combine and mix all ingredients in bowl and chill for at least 30 minute before serving.   This recipe can also be made with a food processor.

** I believe I have found the healthiest tortilla chip created (other than baking your own) on my most recent trip to Whole Foods.  Click HERE for the brand.  They are organic, baked as opposed to fried, and super low in fat.  They have a salt-free and a low-salt option.

sig-ash-grey

Leave a Reply

