Exercise Comeback: The Hula Hoop!

IMG_6673edit2

My favorite childhood toy is making a comeback! Who is excited? Haha..ME!  My girlfriend and I were talking the other day about fitness routines that works out your abs really well, and we started talking about how cool it was when we used to hula hoop as kids.  Then we both started wondering why we don’t do hula hoop anymore?!  It used to be so fun and an unbelieveably awesome abdominal workout!  She and I went and bought hula hoops that afternoon and to my surprise, we could both still do it!

IMG_6606editsq

I started reading about Hula Hooping online pretty soon after I bought my hoop! Apparently there is a whole world of “Hoopers” out there!  Yes, Hoopers…they don’t call it Hula Hooping.  For adults, it is simply “hooping.” There are hooping dance classes, hooping fitness classes, and yoga hooping classes!
IMG_6608editsq

For optimal exercise benefits, your hoop needs to reach to your hips. When we were kids we were half as tall, so that’s why a kids hoop won’t work anymore.  Whoopsie…I’ll have to buy a new hoop, I realized mine is too small after reading more!  What else is cool is that studies show that hooping can burn about 600 calories per hour!

hula1

Another tip for Hooping, is to spin in both directions to keep your body in balance.  This will tone your body evenly from head to toe (and abs)!!! 🙂  I challenge you to get a hoop and start hooping!  You don’t know what you are missing!

IMG_6698edit

Photography by my friend Melanie of MJBlack Photography.

Athletic Wear by Alto Primal.hula2

exciteness 

Comments

  1. You are so dang cute!!!! Your photographer friend is so talented!!! I luv each and every photo. Well done Ashley!! I can’t hoop, sad to say, it just keeps falling. Bummer.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

    • Hey girlfriend!!! Thank You!! We had a blast taking these pics, as you can tell! HEHE 🙂 I’m actually really loving to hula hoop now. I can definitely see how it can be hard for some people! I certainly dropped my hoop a few times.

  2. Hula hooping is one of my favorite ways to exercise, too! When it’s rainy outside there’s nothing quite like a zippy hoop and a great movie on tv 🙂

    • Ha, I love it!!!! Yes, you are exactly right, and that is a great reminder to stay active even when watching tv! I’m totally going to hoop next time in watching a movie! 🙂

      XOXO,
      Ashley

  3. Cindi Ray says:

    It is certainly much harder than it looks. My 50-something girlfriend back in Florida is a Hooper and very good at it. It has become a new-found passion of hers. She’s in great shape because of it. Great pictures, Ashley!

    • Thank You Cindi!! …and YES…it is definitely harder than it looks! I love that your friend is a hooper. I want to see if there are some hooping fitness classes in Las Vegas…wanna be my hooping buddy?! HEHEHE 🙂

  4. I never did this as a kid, but I want to do it as an adult now!! Love the pictures. 🙂

  5. Ashley,

    I love your blog and your photographer did a fabulous job!!! When I was a kid, I wasn’t able to ever hula hoop right. It was always fall down, even after numerous tries. I’d love to try it again as an adult, because it looks like fun and burning calories is a beautiful bonus!! Anyway, thank you for being such an wonderful resource of wisdom. I love your Instagram and you inspire me to be a better, healthier & classier person. Thank YOU!!!!
    xoxoxo
    Melodee

  6. The pictures are great!
    As a kid I wasn’t so good at hula hoop, I tried it again as an adult and I am better now than I was as a kid. Haha
    I incorporated hooping to my workout for the fun at first, but turned out to be a great workout, but I do have trouble spinning the hoop the other direction. 😦 haha
    Reading about balance and toning evenly on your blog, is a sign I should give it another go!

    • Thank You Marie!! I love that you hoop. I actually have a little difficulty hooping the other way too. Practice makes perfect I guess…or practice makes for even toning! LOL! XOXO, Ashley.

Trackbacks

  1. […] Exercise Comeback: The Hula Hoop […]

Leave a Reply

