Peach Cobbler

istockpeaches

I’m taking y’all back to the south with this one.  Good ‘ol peach cobbler but revised for a healthy plant based diet.  This baby is unbelievably superb without compromising nutrition!

I photographed this peach cobbler in my Peach Tea Tuesday post recently.  My plans were to remake and retake a fabulous photo of the cobbler by itself, but life happened, and I decided I needed to go ahead and post the recipe this week with it being a summer holiday and all!  So here it is.  🙂

cobblerWEB

Growing up in North Carolina, cobblers were a staple of the southern cuisine.  My mom and grandma made the best!  Of course, this one is completely different from the family recipe, because there’s no butter, sugar, or oil…but it’s still awesome!  Like, totally awesome, 100% scrumptiousness!

The only problem I have with peach cobbler is that I need to buy double the amount of peaches needed to make it.   While I’m slicing the peaches for the cobbler, I eat them simultaneously! Haha…ENJOY!!

Cobbler Ingredients

6 Peaches, sliced (skin on or off, your choice)

1/4 Cup Date Sugar

1/2 Cup Apple Juice, unsweetened

Raisins, Currants, or chopped Dates (optional)

Topping Ingredients

1 Cup Oat Flour (if you are gluten free make sure its GF)

6 Medjool Dates, pitted

1 Cup Apple Sauce, unsweetened

1/4 Cup Non-Dairy Milk, unsweetened

1/2 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

3/4 Teaspoon Cinnamon

1/4 Teaspoon Nutmeg

1/2 Teaspoon Baking Powder

1/2 Teaspoons Baking Soda

1/4 Cup Old Fashioned Oats, uncooked

Walnuts (optional for sprinkling on top)

Directions

1.  Toss all cobbler ingredients in a mixing bowl and set aside.

2.  Place all topping ingredients, except the 1/4 Cup Uncooked Oats and Walnuts, in a high powered blender or Vitamix.  Puree on high until smooth. Lightly mix in the 1/4 Cup Uncooked Oats.  Set mixture aside.

3.  Place peach mixture in a 9×9 baking pan.

4.  Pour topping mixture on top of peaches and spread evenly.

5.  Sprinkle with Walnuts if using.

6.  Bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 35-45 minutes.  (Or until you test topping with a fork an comes out clean.)

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    Looks delicious and nutritious !
    Beautiful picture!😄😃😍

  2. This looks deeeeelicious!!! I definitely have to try it and will in the near future. I love how all of your ingredients are health “friendly” to my body, as I don’t use oil, salt, gluten, sugar, etc. 🙂

Leave a Reply

