Notes To My High School Self…

 

yearbook

I recently attended my high school class reunion, and it brought back so many memories.  It was so awesome to see classmates that I had not seen since graduation and to hear about what everyone has been up to.  For the most part, everyone was still the same.  Some of us may look different or live different lifestyles than we did in high school, but personalities never change.  On the inside we are who we are.  I have always felt pretty lucky that I went to an incredible high school and grew up around down to earth, beautiful people.  I had fantastic teachers, a supportive family, and sweet friends.  Although I had a great high school experience, I certainly worried a little too much about projects, I was a member of way too many clubs, and I literally thought my life was over when my first boyfriend broke up with me.  If only we had the wisdom of our later years while in high school.  If I could have given advice to my younger self, this is what I would say…

 

grad1

My friend, Katie, and I at high school graduation.

school1

Real friends are there for the long haul.  Friends come and go, and this isn’t always a negative.  People are apart of your life for certain reasons at different times.  Some friends come and some go…wish them well.  Cherish everyone you meet because your experiences and relationships shape you into who you are (even if the experiences are not always positive).  You really only need a few friends that are “Lifers” and when you find them, treat them with respect and make an effort show them how much you care.

school2

Life as an adult is much more difficult, so do not worry about getting an A- as opposed to an A+ on a paper.  In the scheme of life it truly does not matter.  Remember that you can only do so much.  Don’t spread yourself too thin.   If you are late on one assignment in the tenth grade, just chill out…in 10 years you won’t even remember!

school3
You may fall in love with your high school sweetheart, but that love is nothing compared to the love of your spouse.  (ok well I know there are a very few who did marry their high school sweetheart, like my girlfriend Kristin 🙂 , but this is rare)

Young love is only a learning experience.  Remember that a relationship should not be work.  Relationships should be effortless.  If you find yourself struggling in young love…remember – It is just that.  If you are reading this and happen to be in a frustrating relationship…treat these words as a sign.  You are a beautiful flower.  You deserve respect and kindness!

school4
None of it matters and status DEFINITELY does not matter once you’re out of high school.  Whoever said high school is the best years of your life, was wrong and obviously their life went downhill fast.  Your life can be as awesome as you want it to be.  You have so many years of your life ahead of you to be whatever you want!

Like people for who they are, and not what they can do for you.  Just because someone is “cool” in high school does not mean that they will be a “cool” adult.  On the other hand, just because someone may not seen like the “coolest” kid in high school does not mean that they won’t be the sweetest and coolest adult you’ve ever met in your life!

Be nice to everyone.  Remember that every person knows something you do not know.  You can learn something from every person you meet!  Taking the time to learn from all types of people will make you a more interesting person.

school5
Be uniquely you!  What is different about you, is what makes you an individual!  Create your own trends.  Don’t follow the crowd, become a leader.  Show yourself grace because perfectionism is overrated.  Don’t worry about your body!  Simply get in the habit of making healthy choices, and learn to love yourself.  In the long run, confidence is beauty and people are attracted to confidence (and smiles).  Remember that.

 

High school does not determine who you are for the rest of your life.  In the scheme of life, high school is only 4 years; it’s only a grain of sand in the beach of life. 

school6

grad2

My girls at the reunion!

adviceyoungerselfsig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Gorgeous girl!

  2. Jessica says:

    What a beautiful post. 🙂

  3. M. L. Sexton says:

    Advice I would give is, to remember that I have more than one talent and gift and to try my hand at everything. Don’t be closed off to new experiences. Also, save my money. Lol three more years until my high school reunion.

  4. This is so sweet!!❤️

  5. Stacey Lewis says:

    So beautifully said, Ashley! You are so wise for being so young…definitely an “old soul!”❌⭕️❌⭕️

  6. Amazing Ashley! I realized all this my senior year at Piedmont. Thanks for the post.

  7. rose smith says:

    Ashley I graduated with you!! All you say is stuff I would have told myself. Also who your friends are dont define you. I have changed much besides kids. I was wonderful seeing you. I love this!

  8. Terri Dixon says:

    That is very beautiful ! You have grown into a wonderful woman!

  9. nourishbymelissa says:

    I definitely agree that I’d tell all girls in high school not to worry about social status…one of the firs things I noticed after high school was that social status no longer existed and the “popular group” that may have seemed all high and mighty in high school now blend in like any other student!

  10. Great advice thanks Ashley ❤️ you always have such sweet and important things to say!

Leave a Reply

