My North Carolina Farmers Market Haul!

As most of you know I visited the east coast over the past week!  The first week I visited Charlotte and the first stop my mom and I made was at the local Charlotte Farmers Market.  We found so many delicious veggies!

North Carolina Farmers Market Haul!

Reasons to Eat Local! { organic * vegan * healthy * recipes * lipstick and berries }Local Cucumbers

These White Cucumbers remind me of my grandmother.  She used to grow them in her garden!  I had not seen these cucumbers in years!  It brought back really amazing memories of pickled cucumbers and fresh country salads.

Colorful Potatoes

I bought some of these potatoes and made my Cheezy Rosemary Mashed Potatoes for my mom and brother later in the week!

Strawberry Obsession

My farmers market haul would not have been complete without finding these beautiful strawberries! My town, Las Vegas, has been lacking in the strawberry department over the past year.  I was more than thrilled to find these jewels in Charlotte.  They were the sweetest strawberries I have tasted in a very long time.

Fresh Peppers

I love Bell Peppers! They are something that I used to not be the biggest fan of, but they have secretly grown on me!  Orange Bell Peppers are my favorite! I put chopped bell peppers on my salad everyday!

Local Sweet Potatoes

I love a good sweet ‘tater. That’s really all I have to say about that! 🙂

Local Fresh Blackberries

We had a dinner party at my mom’s house one night.  She invited all her friends and I cooked my Classic Veggie Burger with all the toppings (including Healthy Ketchup and Healthy No-Mayo), Chopped Salad with Shallot Vinaigrette, Cucumber and Bell Pepper side dish, and Cherry Ice Cream.  It was all a hit!!! It was really nice to cook for all the ladies!  They are all readers of my blog, so I felt especially honored to prepare some of my dishes for them!

Fresh Veggies From Farmers Market

farmersmarket

sig-ash-grey

 

 

Comments

  1. Melanie Dunston says:

    They are so needed. There are so many people that have no ideal what “green” life is. It should be a way of life. I hate to say it seems to be very costly for many urbanites. Markets are awesome! But I still find them difficult to get to. Even the one that is close to me has a claim of being ” community” minded… I still witness the elevated prices and the poor quality. This is not on purpose I am sure. The lack of customers utilizing our community farmers market only keeps some merchants holding on longer to produce that they would of most likely got rid of much earlier. I am very aware of this practice from living in New York. Sorry for the long post. Ashley, you ROCK!

    • I welcome the long post!! Thank you! I agree; Farmers Markets are very much needed. I wish they were more convenient like you mentioned. I even find myself not utilizing them as often as I should for only the inconvenience factor. I do love local markets though, they can be so charming, and I love the “neighborhood” feel and meeting the merchants. I hope that more and more people continue to support local! Thanks Melanie 🙂

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  2. I LOVE Farmer’s Markets! There is one every Sunday on my actual block in the middle of DTLA! I live for Sundays!

  3. M. L. Sexton says:

    We need more of them around. Living in Texas, farmers markets are far and few in between. I go when I happen to be close to one, other than that, local grocery store. Although, in Texas, Kroger and HEB carry mostly Texas grown produce if not only, so I guess that’s the next best thing.

Leave a Reply

