Chilled Mint Pea Soup

photo 10

 

Chilled Pea Soup = SUMMER!  I think greens peas are pretty awesome and I have loved them since I was a little kid.  This may be the brightest green dish I have ever made.  It’s electric!  I decided to add a little basil as a twist to the traditional mint pea recipe.  I just really love fresh herbs…especially basil, so basil somehow crept its way into my soup.  🙂  Isn’t this the happiest green soup you’ve ever seen?!

Basil is great for immune support, and it has been shown to provide protection against unwanted bacterial growth!  Mint is a calming and soothing herb that is great for aiding in digestion.

Peas provide a substantial amount of plant based protein and this soup will keep you totally full!  I made this for my mom yesterday and and she loved it! My mom eats a high plant based diet but mint pea soup made her a little nervous. She was pleasantly surprised! This soup is unique and bursting with flavor!

Cashews are optional! Personally, I like to add a few nuts to help with the absorption of greens.  Also if raw garlic is not your favorite, you could substitute with green onion.

Please enjoy and if you make this you can always tag me on Instagram by using #lipstickandberries & @lipstickandberries so I can see!! 🌟

Ingredients (Serves 2)

16 ounce bag of green peas (frozen or thawed) + extra for chunky mix ins

1 Cup Water or Non-Dairy Milk (Soy, Hemp, Almond)

2 Cups Baby Spinach

2 Teaspoons Lemon Juice

1 Garlic Clove

2 Tablespoons Fresh Mint

1 Tablespoon Fresh Basil

2-4 Tablespoons Cashews, unsalted (optional)

1 Zucchini (optional for mix in slices)

1 Cucumber (optional for mix in slices)

Directions

1.  Add all ingredients to your Vitamix or high powered blender and puree on high until smooth.

2.  Pour into bowls and top with diced cucumber, zucchini, or more peas!

**Do not overblend to the point where the soup becomes warm.  If it does happen to get warm, chill in refrigerator afterwards.

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. M. L. Sexton says:

    I’m going to have to try this and let you know. It sounds good and I absolutely love peas.

  2. Ashley,
    Yes!!! It is electric and beautiful. Peas have been my favorite since childhood as well as mashed potatoes!!! I use to stir my peas into the mashed potatoes…teeheehee. But I no longer eat mashed potatoes but I sure do love fresh peas!!! I found some at Trader Joe’s so I can use them in your recipe!! Herbs are wonderful!! I use any excuse I can to have them daily.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

    • Hey girlie!! Yes, peas are fantastic!! I love how naturally sweet they are! Hehehe taters with peas….that actually sounds pretty darn good! I hope you enjoy the recipe…I think it will be up your alley!!

      XOXO, Ashley

  3. MJBlackPhotography says:

    That Looks DELICIOUS! YUM!

Leave a Reply

