Tea Tuesday: Summer Peaches

cobblerWEB

June is national Iced Tea Month so what better way to celebrate than with a refreshing glass of Peach Tea!  Peaches remind me of the south.  I am from North Carolina originally, so I grew up on peaches.  My mom and my grandma used to make peach cobblers in the summer.  Our whole family would gather for supper, eat lots of cobbler, and wash all that southern food down with a big glass of sweet iced tea.  Sweet iced tea is a HUGE deal in the southeastern US.  It’s really abnormal to not drink sweet iced tea there.  Years ago I was quite addicted to southern sweet tea; it may have been one of my favorite things ever! As my life has moved me west, I have gradually grown to like my tea less and less sweet, and actually now I drink most of my teas unsweetened.

This Peach Oolong is a beautiful blend of two oolongs, hibiscus, and dried peaches.  The hibiscus gives this tea a pink hue.  So not only does this tea taste great, but it’s also pretty!  I prefer Peach Oolong on the rocks. 🙂  It’s so refreshing!

Speaking of the south…the south is where I am as I write this!  I made a little trip to North Carolina to visit family AND to go to my high school class reunion.  Woohoo!  A lot is happening this week.  I will have some great stories and pictures of our adventures coming up soon.  Also coming up soon will be the recipe for this incredible peach cobbler that is pictured alongside the tea.  Seriously, it’s to die for.  It’s nostalgic, sweet, low fat, and made without any refined sugar or oil.  🙂  I cannot wait to share it with you!

sig-ash-grey

 

 

Comments

  1. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    I love peaches and peach “Gobbler” as we used
    To say! Thanks for exposing me to new teas
    And new flavors!!

  2. Here in Texas sweet tea can be as essential as air but it can be too much sweet sometimes. It’s nice to be able to have alternatives.
    I don’t know why but the link didn’t work for me

    • Oh yes, Texas does have sweet tea too! I lived in Dallas for about 6 years (I love TX!! NC and TX both feel like home to me). Back to tea…I seemed to find a nice balance of sweet & unsweet tea in TX. You are right though…when it was sweet it was ultra-sweet!! (Thanks for giving me a heads up about the link. It seems to be working from my computer..maybe it was a glitch, computers can be frustrating sometimes huh?!) XOXO, Ashley.

  3. M. L. Sexton says:

    I’ve been wanting to make a vegan peach cobbler. I live in Texas and in the south, sweet iced tea is like water lol although I’m not a fan of it being sweet. Semi-sweet is good enough for me.

  4. I’m a huge sweet tea fan, too — born and raised in southern Illinois. It wasn’t until I headed to Chicago for college that I realized not everyone has sweet tea with meals!

  5. This has to be one of my favorite flavors of tea! But where can you get it, or do you buy the stuff that’s already mixed in together (like the Lipton can tea)? I prefer unsweet tea as well. And P.S your website is spectacular, I wanna try everything.

    • Hi!! If you click the link highlighted Peach Oolong in the second paragraph, it should direct you to the American Tea Room website where it is from. It’s really great, and this is just pure brewed peach oolong over ice, unsweetened. Enjoy!! Happy Summer 🙂

      XOXO, Ashley

Trackbacks

  1. […] photographed this peach cobbler in my Peach Tea Tuesday post recently.  My plans were to remake and retake a fabulous photo of the cobbler by itself, but […]

Leave a Reply

