Happy Tummy Smoothie

Happy Tummy Smoothie.  This is perfect if you have an upset stomach.  The ingredients ease and soothe your stomach and digestion.  #healthyrecipes #healthyliving #wellness #smoothierecipes #lipstickandberries

If you ever struggle with an upset stomach or digestive issues, consider making a smoothie to ease your symptoms.  This smoothie is sure to make your tummy happier.  I used all soothing ingredients and demulcents to create a happy environment in your belly!  Plants that are demulcents produce a type of carbohydrate called mucilage that creates a film over mucous membranes.  You can easily tell if a herb/plant is a demulcent if you crush it, add a little water, and rub it between you fingers.  If it becomes slimy, then you have yourself a demulcent!

A few demulcents are:  Chia Seeds, Flax Seeds, Aloe Vera, Irish Moss, Mallow, Slippery Elm Bark.

My husband always jokes with me and calls me “Iron Gut” because I can pretty much eat any food in and combination and it never bothers my stomach.  I could probably eat wood chips, with a sprinkle of pebbles and I would feel fine.  Haha, not really, but you get the idea.  This may sound rather strange, but although my stomach doesn’t easily hurt, when I eat a lot of citrus fruits or pineapple, my mouth can get really irritated.  I have to eat mild foods for a while afterwards.  When I have to do this, I normally make this smoothie; not only is it gentle on my stomach, but it’s nice to my mouth too!

Oatmeal, bananas, and chamomile are ultra soothing and make this smoothie ultra mild and delicious.  I personally like to add a couple dates to sweeten it up, but its not necessary.  If you use very ripe bananas, the sweetness from the bananas alone should be sufficient.  If you like you could also add a little vanilla almond milk.  Whatever suits your tummy!

 

Ingredients (Serves 1-2)

1/2 Cup Chamomile Tea, cooled

1/4 – 1/2 Cup Uncooked Old Fashioned Oats

2 Frozen Bananas

1 Tablespoon Ground Chia Seeds

2 Tablespoons Aloe Vera Juice (I use Herbal Answer liquid)

2 Dates or sweetener (optional) 

Combine all and blend!

stomachsoother

sig-ash-grey

 

 

Comments

  1. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people for this subject,
    however, you seem like you know what you’re talking about! Thanks

Leave a Reply

