Tea Tuesday: Elephant In The Room

Elephant Teapot

What a beautiful morning.  It is starting to feel a bit like summer, which has me wondering if I am ready for the heat.  I may switch my teas to cold brew or some delightful tea cocktails…we shall see!  Then again, to be honest, I can pretty much drink hot tea anytime, anywhere.

I love things that are sentimental, and this tea cup and saucer are from my mom’s vintage china set.  She passed it down to me recently, and I absolutely love it!

Well, lets get it out in the open that I am obsessed with teapots.  This one is no exception.  I fell in love with this little elephant friend!  I have always heard that elephants mean good luck, but after reading a little on the symbolism of elephants, it turns out that different cultures have different meanings for elephants.  The origin of the elephant meaning Good Luck comes from Hinduism in which the elephant-headed god, Ganesha, is the luck-god (pretty cool!).  In asian culture the elephant is a signature of longevity and happiness.  To western cultures, the elephant symbolizes reliability and patience.  Just a little elephant trivia for your next safari.  🙂

Silver Needles Tea

I am drinking Silver Needles White Tea today!

White teas are the least processed of all teas.  The delicate white tea buds transform into a light bouquet that is bursting with antioxidants.  White tea is believed to help strengthen the immune system and enhance collagen production which is important for maintaining youthful skin.  (I’ll drink two pots for collagen production!)

Silver Needles (Bai Hao Yin Zhen) is a hand picked tea only available in limited quantities.  This golden brew is a very unique yet classic tea.  It’s taste is very smooth, and it’s perfect for the tea connoisseur!  Silver Needles needs to be savored and sipped slowly, and it does not need any sweetener.  For this particular tea I brew it 2-3 times.  For each brew, I double the time but keep the temperature the same.  Get the most out of your tea!

 

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. nourishbymelissa says:

    Such a pretty tea pot 🙂

  2. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    I love your place setting. Our family certainly ate delicious food And
    Had great times at the breakfast, lunch, and dinner table!
    ThAnk you for educating me now on delicious unique teas!!😘

  3. Love this! I actually prefer white teas to black teas 🙂

    -Sayeh, The Office Stylist
    http://www.theofficestylist.com

Leave a Reply

