My Favorite Chocolate Ice Dream (Dairy and Sugar-Free!)

Chocolate Ice Cream! (Dairy Free, Vegan, Refined Sugar Free!) Must try!

 

Who knew that you could still enjoy a chocolate frozen treat on a plant based diet?!  It’s true, you can!  Dairy-Free is deeeelicious! A few years ago when I first heard of “Almond Milk” I literally could not understand what the hell almond milk was.  To me, milk was cow milk, and I liked cow milk…A LOT.  Fast forward a few years and I am swimming in dairy-free milk of all sorts! I have been experimenting making my own nut milks and that has actually been quite fun as well!  I will have some home made nut milk recipes for you soon.  Experimenting and tasting new foods has definitely become a passion!

I hope that you are dairy-free, and if you are, then you are going to love this ice cream! It is seriously SO TASTY! (One of my most popular Instagram posts as well!) I never knew I was going to become an ice cream maker haha.

My girlfriend sent me a picture recently while she was eating this ice cream on top of my Caribbean Brownies she had made! That girl knows how to eat some chocolate, and I totally appreciate that!  But hey, you can eat all the chocolate you want when it’s low fat, sugar free, and full of fiber!

Stay cool & skinny this summer with my summer chocolate treat!

Ingredients

2 Cups Non-Dairy Milk (Soy, Almond, Cashew, Hemp)

3  Tablespoons Cocoa Powder, unsweetened (I use Wonderslim)

5 Medjool Dates, pitted (or more depending on desired sweetness!) 

1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

1/4 Cup Raw Cashews, unsalted (optional for creamier rich texture)

Directions

1.  Puree all ingredients in Vitamix or high powered blender until smooth.

2.  Pour mixture into shallow baking dish, plastic container, or into ice cube tray.  (I like to use ice cream tray)

3.  Freeze mixture at least 1-2 hours or until frozen desired consistency is reached.

4.  Slightly defrost.  Couple options:  Scoop out of pan with ice cream scoop.  Another option is to pop out the chocolate ice cubes, return to Vitamix or smooth blending and then serve!

*This can be made with any non-dairy milk.  If you would like it to have a consistency that is more of true ice cream, then use full-fat coconut milk.  I like it with almond or cashew milk, but it’s your ice cream! Do what you like!

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. lovention says:

    tried your icecream with coconut milk and dates etc… soooooooooooooooooo goood! i love your instagram btw! thanks for making me smoothie crazy!

  2. Hi, I am wondering if you can make a sugar free cookie dough ice cream and cappacino icecream recipe for me? I have type 1 diabetes and I am tired of looking for these that are sugar free. Btw ur IG page is amazing, I have tired most of ur recipes 🙂 thank you in advance.

    • Hi there! Thanks for the ideas, I will write those down. I actually already have a recipe for expresso ice cream, I just haven’t published it yet. I guess that would be similar to cappuccino. I’ll do a little research. Cookie Dough Ice Cream sounds amazing!! I will write that down on my recipe idea list and work to see if that is something I can make without refined sugar. Thank you so much for your compliments; I am so happy you are enjoying everything. Thank you for taking the time to visit my blog.

      XOXO,
      Ashley

      • Espresso ice cream sounds amazing 🙂 I will look forward for these recipes 🙂 thank you Ashley!

Leave a Reply

