Classic Oil-Free Hummus

Classic Hummus made without refined oil, salt, or sugar!

This is my mom’s favorite snack! I made this for my mom as her first SOS-Free recipe.  Now she makes this recipe every week to keep in her refrigerator as handy and healthy snack!  I have always loved hummus, but its so dang salty when bought pre-made…not to mention full of oil. Ugh! I can’t even handle it.  Well the good news is that now you can have your hummus and eat it too! In this recipe, the fat comes from a healthy source of sesame seeds instead of low nutrient sesame oil which is just pure fat and no nutrition.  By forgoing the oil, you are saving your body needless fat calories and in return adding healthy fat plus the fiber (and not to mention a TON of calcium) that accompanies whole sesame seeds!

This only takes a few minutes to prepare and it will last about 4-5 days in the refrigerator.  This recipe is perfect to bring to a dinner party, plus you will be certain that there is something healthy you can eat!  When I attend a dinner party or brunch, I always volunteer to bring an appetizer or two.  One reason I volunteer is so I will not starve, and the other reason is show my friends that healthy truly can be tasty!

I like to eat this hummus with sliced cucumbers, raw carrots, broccoli, cauliflower, raw squash, zucchini, bell peppers, or sugar snap peas!

Ingredients

3 Cups or 2, 15 ounce cans Garbanzo Beans, salt-free, drained and rinsed

1/2 Cup Water

1/4 Cup Lemon Juice

2 Teaspoons Apple Cider Vinegar

1/4 Cup Sesame Seeds, unsalted (or Tahini) 

1-2 Fresh Garlic Cloves, peeled

1 Teaspoon Cumin

1 Teaspoon Tumeric (optional)

Directions

Blend all ingredients together in the Vitamix or high powered blender.

Some of my other favorite healthy dips are my Seafood Vegan Dip and Rosemary Beet Hummus!

 

sig-ash-grey

 

Comments

  1. We are on the same wave length!!! I made this two days ago for the children, almost the exact same way minus the vinegar and garlic. I used garlic powder for them and also some dried onions. They flipped out!!! I will try your version for the next batch for them.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

    • How funny that you just made hummus too! I like how you added dried onions. I bet that added a nice “zing” to the recipe! When I make my hummus again, I will try adding onions like you did! Have a great day girlfriend! XOXO, Ashley.

  2. I know hummus is easy to make, but I rarely make it because I’m too lazy. Still, it’s almost impossible to find store bought hummus without oil that tastes good so I’m gonna try this. Celeste 🙂

    • Hi Celeste! I totally know what you mean; we all get lazy sometimes! I wish oil-free hummus was available in stores, it’s too bad. I hope you enjoy the recipe! Have an awesome day! XOXO, Ashley.

      • Roots makes a delicious oil-free hummus. They do add a little salt though. They are out of North Carolina, but I buy it at Whole Foods in Los Angeles.

      • That’s awesome! I’ll have to see if they have that brand at my Las Vegas Whole Foods! Thanks Alison!

  3. DO you have a different nut or seed to use instead of tahini? I am allergic to sesame….

    • Hi! You can just omit the sesame completely, and also decrease the amount of lemon juice slightly. For a boost of flavor you can add a teaspoon or so of tamari or Bragg’s Amino Acid, and a little more garlic. XOXO, Ashley.

Trackbacks

  1. […]  Oil-Free Hummus or Broccoli Dip. Eat with raw Carrots, Cauliflower, Snap Peas, Bell Peppers, Cucumbers, […]

Leave a Reply

