Don’t Forget to Spring Clean Your Body!

I cannot believe it is the beginning of May!  Where does the time go?!  I hope your Monday is gorgeous where you are.  It is a beautiful day in Las Vegas, and spring is in full affect!  The warm breeze and sunshine this morning along with the crazy realization that it is already mid-spring put me into slight mini-panic…I have a lot more spring cleaning to do!!  My ideas and creativeness blossom in the spring months, so this is a busy time of year for me! Too many ideas and too little time!  This Monday I am taking a moment to take a deep breath, refocus, and appreciate every moment – a moment to make sure I don’t overlook my health and become too caught up in life!  It is easy to become preoccupied in the “Spring Cleaning” of our homes and lives, but let’s not forget that it is equally important to “Spring Clean” our bodies!  We deserve to feel as beautiful as this spring season!  It’s definitely not too late for a spring time reboot!

Don't forget to SPRING CLEAN your body! It's not too late.  Article from www.LipstickandBerries.com Quick & Easy ways to revive your body in the spring time!

 

Biologically, nature supports the cleansing of the body in the spring.  In winter, people tend to eat more sweets and heavy foods.  Springtime gives our bodies a boost of energy!  It is the perfect time to really take advantage of the change in season to rejuvenate, refresh, and revive your body.

Here are a few of my Merry Monday Spring Body Cleaning Tips to start reviving your body this week!

sunshine

Get outside! The sunshine is nature’s happy pill!  Sunlight converts cholesterol in the skin to vitamin D.  Vitamin D is difficult to absorb and one of the only plant based sources of D is from mushrooms.  Most people are crazy deficient in Vitamin D.  If you have  been feeling low, it is very likely that your body is deficient in this Vitamin (hormone actually).  It is best to keep your Vitamin D level in the “low” normal range.  Check your levels with your doc!

I use Garden of Life Raw D3.  I use it when needed to bring my levels back into the “low” normal range.

stretch
Take 5 minutes upon arising for morning stretches!  This is something I do everyday, and It is unbelievable how fantastic your body can feel just after 5 minutes of stretching.  It is the best way to start the morning energized while easing stress simultaneously!

If you already have your stretching routine down, but you need to find the time to exercise, check out my Ways To Find More Time to Exercise!

probiotics

To kick start a healthy diet change, keep the digestive tract and immune system healthy with probiotics!

Probiotics affect intestinal bacteria by increasing the numbers of beneficial bacteria and decreasing the number of harmful bacteria!  Probiotics help restore the natural balance of good bacteria in the gut.  In with the good and out with the bad!

“All Disease Begins In The Gut.”  Hippocrates said this more than 2,000 years ago.  We are just now realizing how true this statement was!!  Research has revealed that gut health is critical to overall health, and that an unhealthy gut contributes to a wide range of diseases including diabetes, obesity, autoimmune diseases, depression, and chronic fatigue!

When I first changed to a plant based diet, I took a daily probiotic.  Now that my diet is so clean and super high in vegetables and fruit, I only take it 1-2 times a week.  If I ever have to take an antibiotic medicine, I stop the probiotic for the course of the medicine and once finished I do one full week of daily probiotics to replenish my good bacteria.

spices

Add new spices to your recipes!  Try some spices like Tumeric, Cumin, or Coriander!  These three spices naturally help detoxify the body.  Tumeric contains curcumin, which is a flavanoid known to have antioxidant properties.  I love to add a 1/4 teaspoon of ground turmeric to pretty much anything (smoothies or hummus?!)  This wonder spice helps detoxify the liver, fight allergies, stimulate digestion, boost immunity, and enhance complexion! Cumin and coriander contain oils that are effective in helping detoxify the liver and aid in digestion.  My Rainbow Quinoa Salad with Citrus Vinaigrette contains all these delicious spices!

raw

There are endless benefits to adding more raw vegetables and fruits into your diet!  It is easier than you think! A fruit & vegetable smoothie in the morning may be the easiest and most convenient way for a busy lifestyle!  Eating lots of raw foods in addition to your cooked foods, is a HUGE feature of an anti-cancer, anti-disease, healthy, and happy life! Add a little zen to your life and enjoy more raw!  I don’t know about you, but raw food moments give me mental clarity, a little pep in my step, and more motivation for my next task!  Try it! Chug your smoothie with a smug smile!! You are so healthy, you are worth it! 🙂

 

sig-ash-grey

springtips

 

 

Comments

  1. Body brushing! I’m trying to remember to do it every day. Also trying to remember lemon water first thing in the morning. And may try oil pulling soon. Love your blog, your recipes and your wonderful positive spirit x

    • Hi Kelly! Ooooo yes body brushing is a fantastic tip! I am trying to get in the habit of that was well. You are reading my mind. 💛 I like your ideas, and thank you for the nice words!!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  2. love these tips! Spring cleaning your body is so important to feel your best come summer 🙂

Leave a Reply

