Coconut Chai Tea Ice Cream

Vegan Coconut Chai Ice Cream!  This is refined sugar free and oil free!  www.LipstickandBerries.com ( #vegan #sugarfree #veganicecream #sosfree )

Did I ever tell you that I took 4 years of Pottery in high school? Yep, I did.  You’re probably wondering what that has to do with ice cream.  Well I am reminded of my pottery days as I hold this mug!  Recently my girlfriends and I had a craft day at a local pottery painting studio.  I decided to paint a Lipstick and Berries logo mug! It was so much fun.  I remember how much I used to love creating pottery! I guess I love creating, but now I have a new medium…FOOD!

Moving on to the food…this is a really delicious vegan ice cream that I made without refined sugar or oil.  I have a really funny story about this ice cream…When I first made this, I accidentally used Powdered Garlic instead of Powdered Ginger.  What a huge difference in flavor a few letters will make! HA!!! Maybe I need glasses.

Chai is one of my favorite flavors.  I absolutely love a warm chai tea latte or just a hot cup of masala chai tea.  Did you know that the word “Chai Tea” is actually redundant? Chai is actually the word for tea in the Hindi language.  So next time you go to India, and get a funny look after ordering a “Chai Tea” you’ll know why. It’s because you just ordered a “Tea Tea.”

Enjoy this Coconut Tea Tea Ice Cream 🙂

 

Ingredients (Serves 2-3)

2 Cups Coconut Milk Beverage, unsweetened

1 Teaspoon Vanilla Extract

4 Teaspoons Chai Tea (or about 3-4 chai tea packets)

1/4 Teaspoon Powdered Ginger

1/4 Teaspoon Powdered Cinnamon

6-8 Medjool Dates, pitted

2 Tablespoons Coconut Cream (coconut meat)

Directions

1.  Place all ingredients in Vitamix or high powered blender.  If you do not have a heavy duty blender, then chop the dates into smaller pieces then soak them in the coconut milk for at least 30 minutes prior to soften.  

2.  Once blended smooth, there are two options.  One option is to place the mixture into an ice cream maker and then process according to manufacturers directions.  Second option is to pour mixture into a baking pan, cover, and place in freezer for at least an hour or until desired consistency is reached.

Note* I put my mixture into an ice cream maker this time. (My ice creamer maker was only $20, it’s a really inexpensive one but it still worked!) Once the mixture processed, I put it into the freezer for 20 minutes to freeze it a little more. Forgive me in this picture as it was really hot outside when i took this, hence the slightly melting ice cream, Oh well!

sig-ash-grey

 

 

Comments

  1. Oh my gosh! I am a chai tea addict….and a total ice cream lover, so basically this looks like heaven to me haha 🙂

  2. The recipe sounds delicious! 🙂

  3. Is it 4 tsp loose chi tea? Or brewed?

  4. I made this and froze it overnight. Should I freeze for one hour so its not too frozen? It was very good!

Leave a Reply

