Easy Marinara Sauce over Spaghetti Squash

Vegan, Oil Free, Spaghetti Squash Marinara.  This is zesty and delicious without added Salt, Oil, or Sugar! www.LipstickandBerries.com

When I think about nostalgic childhood meals, one of my favorites was my dad’s spaghetti.  I remember his secret trick was to add a little brown sugar to the sauce to give it that delicious sweet yet savory flavor.  This marinara sauce is reminiscent of his delicious family recipe, but this one is extra special because it is created without any added oils, salt, or refined sugar.  I used my beloved Medjool dates along with carrots to give the sauce depth and sweetness.  With no added fat, this recipe is perfect for a low fat pant based diet!

I served this marinara over baked spaghetti squash and with some steamed broccoli on top.  (I always sneak in greens and cruciferous vegetables whenever possible! The more the merrier!)  Have you tried spaghetti squash yet?  It is one of my favorite healthy carbohydrates! It is the most amazing substitute for pasta, and makes your meals much more nutrient dense. If Spaghetti Squash is not available in your area this season, always choose whole grain pasta or my personal favorite, bean pasta!! (Take a look at some of my favorite bean pastas here!  It’s so cool; only 2 ingredients; beans + water).  Spaghetti Squash can be cooked many ways; it can be cooked in oven, pressure cooker, or even the microwave.

The Vitamix makes this recipe so easy; it does most of the work for you.  I also use a Chop Wizard to uniformly chop my onion and mushrooms!

I cannot wait for you to try this recipe.  It is has a fantastic flavor when eaten as leftovers the next day too!

Ingredients (Serves 6)

1, 24 ounce Jar of San Marzano Diced Tomatoes, salt-free (I used Bella Terra Organic)

3 Medium Carrots, peeled

3 Medjool Dates, pitted

1/2 Teaspoon Garlic Powder

1/4 Teaspoon Dried Basil

1/4 Teaspoon Italian Seasoning 

1 Small Sweet Onion, chopped

3 Garlic Cloves, chopped

2 Cups Crimini Mushrooms, diced

2 Tablespoons Fresh Basil, chopped

2 Handfuls Fresh Baby Spinach

Directions

1.  Place tomatoes, carrots, dates, garlic powder, basil, and italian seasoning in Vitamix or high powered blender.  Blend on high until smooth.  Set aside.

2.  Water sauté the chopped onion and garlic for about 3-5 minutes or until onions are slightly translucent.  (To water sauté – add a couple tablespoons of water to a medium saucepan and heat on high.  When the water starts to sizzle, turn down to medium and add ingredients. Add more water as needed to prevent sticking.)

3.  Add diced mushrooms and fresh basil.  Water sauté for another 3-5 minutes.

4.  Add the tomato sauce from blender into the pan.  Continue to heat and stir for 10-15 minutes.

5.  Turn off heat and add baby spinach.  Serve sauce warm over your dish once the spinach has wilted. 

sig-ash-grey

Hey Daddio, Do you like this recipe? 🙂

Comments

  1. Ashley, this recipe looks fantastic. I love all of the ingredients you chose. Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipes!! I cannot wait to serve this to the family. My serving will be made raw of course 🙂 Copying it down right now.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

  2. Cindi McDaniel Ray says:

    Sounds really yummy, Ashley. Can’t wait to try it.

  3. Made this tonight. Delicious. Thanks. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. […] other friendly carbs I love for dinner are Zucchini, Yellow Squash, Spaghetti Squash, Turnips, Beets, or Parsnips. Any of these are delicious boiled or steamed! Easy breezy!  These […]

  2. […] recipe is delicious with my Easy Marinara Sauce.  I often serve this with two sides of steamed greens and baked sweet potato. […]

Leave a Reply

