Zoodles with Carrot Ginger Sauce

Carrot Ginger Sauce with Zoodles.  100% Raw Vegan, Oil-Free, Salt-Free, Sugar-Free, Gluten-Free! Delicious!! www.LipstickandBerries.com (main dish)

Do you know what Zoodles are? If not, you’re about to find out! I just started using a vegetable spiralizer, and I am absolutely addicted!  A spiralizer makes the easiest, quickest, and healthiest meals!

Ok, back to Zoodles!  Zucchini + Noodles = Zoodles!! Better yet, these are RAW zoodles!! (Applause!)

I had a few lonesome zucchinis and carrots in the refrigerator and lucky for me I had just received my spiralizer (and of course my handy dandy Vitamix helps out too).  Since carrots were the only vegetable left in my refrigerator I started brainstorming on what type of raw sauce I could make for my fresh zoodles.  Don’t you love it when random magic happens in the kitchen??

Well this recipe is certainly raw magic! It is delicious, fresh, and sweet.  If you are new to raw cooking, I challenge you to try this recipe!  I know you will love it (if you like carrots, that is 🙂 )  Carrot and Ginger are the perfect combination of sweet and zesty.

Please enjoy!!

Ingredients (serves 2)

4 Zucchinis (spiralized)

2 Medium Carrots, peeled

1/2 Cup Water

3/4 Teaspoon Ground Ginger

1/4 Cup Cashews, unsalted

1 Garlic Clove

Directions

1.  Spiralize the zucchinis.  

2.  Puree all remaining ingredients in a Vitamix or high powered blender!

(If you don’t have a high powered blender, you may need to dice your carrots a bit smaller first, and soak the cashews for an hour or so to soften.)  

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Your website is so goregous! I love the girliness. 🙂 I was just wondering, would a meal like the above keep you full for a long time? Also, what are your protein sources? Please keep up the good work!

    • Hi Jessica! Thank You!

      Well it depends on what you call a “long time.” I normally have a small snack in between my lunch and dinner, like some oil-free hummus with sliced raw veggies, or a fruit plate. So I would say Yes, I am full, but if I was overly hungry at a meal like this, I would add another zucchini.

      My protein sources are pretty much everything I eat 🙂 All foods have protein, even fruit. Oddly enough, even if you went an entire day and only ate white potatoes, you would meet your minimum requirement for protein. One of my favorite quotes from T.Colin Campbell of The China Study and Forks Over Knives is “You can’t be protein deficient unless you are calorie deficient.” Pretty simple and true! So if you are consuming enough calories for your body, then you are getting sufficient protein.

      My favorite example of plant based protein compared to animal protein or meat is this: 100 calories of steak contains 6g of protein. 100 calories of broccoli has 11g of protein.

      Other fantastic sources for protein are beans, quinoa, greens, and soy beans (which actually have more protein per calorie than all dairy and eggs).

      Hope this helps!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  2. This looks so delicious and refreshing! I have a similar dressing that I used on a superfood salad, but I bet it’s equally delicious on zoodles!

    • Thank You Dear!! I will have to check out your recipe, I love a Superfood Salad!! Thanks for visiting my blog. I always enjoy seeing your posts on Instagram!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  3. HMMM i love zucchini noodles…they are absolutely delicious! Also, you should do more post-workout raw meals. I’m interested in the diet in general, but as an athlete I find it veryyyy hard to recover (and remain satiated) after eating a raw meal, especially after a workout! So I would love to know what you would recommend for post-workout for people who are more than the occasional “gym-goer”

  4. Erica Nichole says:

    Hi Ashley!

    On some of your recipes you have an asterisk for a nut replacement. I was wondering if there was one for this recipe? I cannot eat tree nuts bc of a sensitivity (very similar to an allergy–almost like a mild allergy), but I really want to try this recipe because zucchini is one of my favorite veggies!

    Best,
    Erica Nichole

    • Hi Erica! Nuts are optional on most of my recipes. In this recipe, you can leave the cashews out completely, or you could replace with hemp seeds. Hemp seeds or sunflower seeds are a great nut-free replacement in many recipes. Also hemp milk is a delicious dairy free milk if you haven’t tried it before! 🙂

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  5. Hi Ashley 🙂
    You are my faveorite food blogger,I have got to say! This pasta is amazing! Since,I don’t have a spiralizer,I use a vegtable peeler,which works pretty well 😉 the carrot and ginger sauce also looks lush! I’ve also just made some really tasty (raw!) pesto and you can have the recipie if you want 🙂 Good choice,by the way,of not just having zoodles on their own because they taste REALLY bland without sauce 🙂
    Best,
    Abbster 🙂

    • Hi Abbster! You’re cute; thank you so much! I love raw zoodles, and I’m sure it was great by just using the vegetable slicer too. You’re right, it would not be very exciting to eat raw zucchini noodles on their own. Raw sauce is the way to go!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  6. Hi Ashley 🙂
    Such a good recipie ! I love it! They taste really bland without sauce,so well done for thinking up that amazing sauce all on their own! Today I have made a really tasty basil pesto and if you want,you can have the recipie! You are my fave food blogger ever,so the least I could do is help out ❤️❤️

    Keep blogging 🍎
    Abbster

  7. This looks amazing and I can’t wait to try it. Btw I’m considering buying a spiralizer but there are so many options I was wondering if you had any recommendations in type/brand? Thanks in advance 🙂

    • Hi! Thank you, I think you will really enjoy this recipe! If you click on the word “spiralizer” in the commentary, it’s a hyperlink and it will direct you to the website. It’s a Paderno World Cuisine Vegetable Slicer. It’s a great one!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  8. Hi! I found you on Instagram and I have to say, ever since I discovered this blog I’ve hardly managed to stay off it! I’m still a teenager, but I see no issues with starting to become healthy early, andi think this website is what I’ve been looking for. These look delicious, I’m in the process if making them. Thank you very much! 🙂

    • Hi Nicola!!! You are so cute, thank you so so so much!! I am so happy you are choosing a healthy lifestyle during your teenage years…that is SO awesome! Stay on track and you will live a vibrant, long, and happy life! Thank you for messaging me and leaving such a sweet comment. Say hello on Instagram too!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

Trackbacks

  1. […] * If you feel like everything you have tried to get your health on track has failed, try adding tons of raw food and vegetable juices into your diet.  Fresh raw food is alkalizing, builds anti-cancer compounds, and establishes a biochemical balance in the body.  (Start with a huge fresh fruit bowl every morning and try my Zoodles with Carrot Ginger Sauce!) […]

  2. diet patch program

    Zoodles with Carrot Ginger Sauce – Lipstick and Berries

Leave a Reply

