Holiday Stuffing with Mushroom Gravy

Vegan, Gluten-Free, Salt Oil Sugar-Free Holiday Stuffing with Mushroom Gravy! It's SO delicious and moist! www.LipstickandBerries.com

I am so excited and proud to share my holiday stuffing with you!  Creating this recipe was a true challenge, but a very exciting one!  I based the recipe off my sweet Grandmother Dale’s Original Family Recipe for Dressing.  I am originally from North Carolina, and you call it “Dressin” when you are from the Southeastern United States.  I named my recipe  Holiday Stuffing as to not get it confused with salad dressing.  My mom learned this valuable recipe and passed it down to me.  I hope my Granny is looking down, smiling, and proud of my Vegan SOS-Free & Gluten-Free version!

As I am looking over the original recipe, a slight panic sets in…

The turkey.  The chicken.  The bread.  The eggs.  The milk.  The salt.  The sugar.  The oil.

Uh o.  How on earth can I turn this into a Vegan SOS-Free Stuffing??

Composure.

OK Ashley, you can do this!!

My kitchen turned into a total experimental testing area for a couple weeks!  I made this recipe over and over again until I finally got it right!! (Woohoo)

This stuffing is an amazing blend of savory and sweet.  There are no overwhelming spices, just the simple addition of Sage.  The Sage paired with the cornbread, lentils, cashews, and dates give this stuffing a rich, smooth flavor and incredible moisture! Low fat and full of plant based protein, you can certainly go back for seconds without worry!

Ingredients For Holiday Stuffing (serves 8-10)

For Cornbread:

2 & 1/2 Cups cornmeal

1/2 Cup Applesauce, unsweetened

1 &1/2 Cups Almond Milk, unsweetened

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

For Stuffing:

1/2 Cup Quinoa, cooked according to package directions

3 Cups Vegetable Broth, salt free or low sodium (I use low sodium)

5-6 Medjool Dates, pitted

1/2 Cup Raw Cashews, unsalted

1/2 Cup Celery, chopped (about 2 stalks)

1 Medium Sweet Onion, chopped

6 Garlic Cloves, chopped

1 & 1/2 Cups Cooked Lentils, drained and rinsed, smashed with a fork (one 15 oz can lentils)

2 Tablespoons Rubbed Sage (make sure to use rubbed)

Black Pepper

Directions

1.  Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Mix all cornbread ingredients an place in a 9×9 pan and bake for 30 minutes.  Use parchment paper or spray lightly with cooking spray.

2.  Cook Quinoa according to package instructions and set aside.

3.  Place the Vegetable Broth, Dates, and Cashews in Vitamix or high powered blender.  Blend until smooth and set aside.

4.  Mix the remaining ingredients together in a bowl and then add the Vitamix liquid ingredients.

5.  Once the cornbread is out of the oven, crumble it very finely into your stuffing mixture.  Combine everything really well and pour into a 9×13 pan.  (No pan treatment is needed)

6.  Cook the stuffing for 1 hour at 350 degrees.

Ingredients for Mushroom Gravy

Blender Ingredients:

2 Cups Vegetable Broth, salt free or low sodium (I use low sodium)

1/2 Sweet Onion

2 Garlic Cloves

1 Tablespoon Bragg’s Amino Acid

1/4 Cup Raw Cashews, unsalted

Other Ingredients:

1 & 1/2 Cups Crimini Mushrooms, chopped

1 Tablespoon Nutritional Yeast

1/2 Teaspoon Rubbed Sage

2 Teaspoons Arrowroot Powder (thickener)

Lots of Black Pepper

Directions

1.  Place all “Blender Ingredients” in your Vitamix or high powered blender.  Blend on high until smooth. Set aside.  

2.  Place a couple tablespoons of water in medium saucepan, and then water sauté the mushrooms for about 3-5 minutes until softened.  

3.  Pour Blender Ingredients into saucepan.

4.  Add the Nutritional Yeast, Sage, Arrowroot, and Black Pepper.  Stir until heated throughout.

5.  Serve warm atop your freshly baked Holiday Stuffing.

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Wow, sounds like you had quite the challenge converting that recipe!! I am glad you found success.
    I made a mushroom gravy for the rest of the family this Thanksgiving and they flipped over it. It was vegan of course and no oil or salt.
    I will have to try your stuffing for them, as they eat gluten free, and it is always a challenge finding a good gluten free dressing for them. Thanks for sharing your hard work.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

  2. This looks amazing Ashley!!! I’m definitely going to make this one for Christmas!

  3. Momma Sheila Haigler says:

    I AM SO PROUD OF YOU! This modified updated “dressin”
    Looks and sounds DELICIOUS!
    Your healthy substitutions are so AMAZING!
    I can’t wait to cook it!
    Yippee! You are an A+ cook!

  4. Jennifer Rose says:

    Hi Ashely!!! I made this today for Christmas and it was fantastic!!! I’m happy I even have some leftover so I can eat it again tomorrow. I followed your steps precisely and have to say I think it’s my new fav. Why go to another stuffing and dressin’ when ya got this one!!! Thanks for putting in the hard work of figuring this out because it was great. I’m even more impressed there was no salt or oil added. Every flavor complimented one another. Definitely sweet and savory. Love it. Thanks Again.

    • Hi Jennifer! That is so amazing to hear! I’m so happy. Thanks so much for your feedback and I am so excited that this recipe was a hit in your home! Hope your Christmas was fantastic! Happy New Years coming up 🙂

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

Leave a Reply

