Mashed Cheezy Rosemary Potatoes

Vegan Mashed Cheezy Rosemary Potatoes. Salt, Oil, and Sugar Free! Great gluten-free side dish.  www.LipstickandBerries.com

These potatoes would make a fabulous, vegan, savory, side dish for your holiday festivities!   I feel like one of the most difficult obstacles for people to face when deciding to go vegan is giving up the cheese.  Now that I eat vegan,  I notice just how many of my (non-vegan) friends have a cheese obsession/love/addiction.  There is just something about the versatility of that delicacy that people seem apprehensive about saying goodbye too. Luckily with this recipe you can have your Cheeze and eat it too (while keep your cardiovascular system intact!). The potatoes are a great substitute for pasta to keep this recipe gluten free, vegan, sugar, sodium, and oil free!

 Say Cheeze!

Ingredients

6 Yukon Gold Potatoes

4 Garlic Cloves

1/2 Cup Almond Milk, unsweetened

1 Tablespoon Fresh Rosemary, finely chopped

1/3 Cup Nutritional Yeast

Directions

1.  Boil the potatoes over medium heat for about 20 minutes or until very soft.

2.  Puree garlic and almond milk in blender or Vitamix.  

3.  Remove potatoes from water and mash with fork in medium bowl.

4.  Add the blended milk, rosemary and nutritional yeast to mashed potatoes and mix well.

**Note:  Use the cooking water from the potatoes instead of the almond milk, to make this recipe (nut-free) qualify for Dr Esselstyn’s Plant Perfect program.

 

sig-ash-grey

 

Comments

  1. These look and sound so yummy! Would you happen to know the nutritional info /approximate servings? I’d like to make this for my family on Christmas but want to be sure I make enough for everyone!

    • Hi! Thank You! I would say this serves 3-4. I am trying to decide what program to use for my nutritional information, but for now I just calculated the recipe through http://www.myfitnesspal.com It says that using small potatoes for 4 servings, it is 99 calories per serving. That will slightly vary depending on how large of servings your guests eats, and how big your potatoes are. I would just estimate and try to decide how many potatoes each person would eat and make accordingly. Hope this helps!
      I hope you enjoy them!

      Peace, Love, and Berries
      Ashley

  2. Samantha says:

    I am loving the sound of most of these, but the problem is my boyfriend is highly allergic to all nuts. So Almond milk and such won’t work for us. Is there any alternatives?

Trackbacks

  1. […] or nutritional yeast.  Mash those taters and stir in chopped garlic and rosemary, or make my Cheezy Potatoes.  Slice open a baked potato and top it with beans, corn, cumin, and onions.  Try my Stuffed […]

  2. […] bought some of these potatoes and made my Cheezy Rosemary Mashed Potatoes for my mom and brother later in the […]

Leave a Reply

