DIY Coasters

DIY Photo Coasters! Perfect for gifts! Step-by-step instructions on www.LipstickandBerries.com

I am totally obsessed with these do-it-yourself coasters!  I have made these time and time again for different occasions.  These coasters are simple and cost under $1 a piece!  These are a perfect to give as gifts for the holidays, party favors, or to keep for yourself!

IMG_9402

Materials for Decoupage Coasters

Materials you will need:

Home Improvement Store:

1.  Square White Tile and/or Distressed Marble Tile

 Craft Store:

2.  Mod Podge (Decoupage glue).  (Shiny Finish for white tiles.  Matte Finish for marble tiles.)

3.  Waterproof Acrylic High Shine Finishing Spray for white tiles.

4.  Foam Brushes

5.  Rubber pads for back of coasters

6.  Decorating Material:  photos, scrapbook paper, magazine pictures, cocktail napkins, copies of letters, etc.

7.  Glitter (optional)

**I prefer using printed photographs over actual photos.  If you print your photos, make to use a laser printer ( it will not smudge) and to size them to the correct size for your tile.  I use the iPhone App, Instaframe Pro, to make my photos into a perfect square.  I take the photos to my local printing office and have them printed two per page.

IMG_9403

Square photos printed by laser jet.

**I also made a few coasters using cocktail napkins for the design.

IMG_9405

Make sure to separate your napkin layers!

IMG_9404

Cocktail Napkins

**I have two different tiles I use:

White Tiles:  Square photos; high shine Mod Podge and high shine acrylic sealer.

Marble Tiles: Torn square photos; matte Mod Podge and no sealer for a distressed look.

-They are both still waterproof.

INSTRUCTIONS

1.  Clean tile with water or alcohol before applying mod podge.

2.  Pre cut your paper appliqués slightly smaller than your tile.  Have your stack of papers ready to expedite the process.

IMG_9406

Apply thin layer to tile.

3.  Using a foam brush, apply a thin layer of Mod Podge to the tile from left to right.

4.  Center your paper on the tile. Press the paper to the tile firmly, beginning in the middle and working your way outwards, or starting from the left and press toward the right, eliminating air bubbles. Pay extra attention to the edges. These must adhere well, otherwise the paper will peel.

5.  Once you have applied the first layer to all the tiles, apply a thin layer of Mod Podge glue to the top of the paper.  Make sure your brushstrokes are uniform and run in only one direction, as you will be able to see them (slightly) when the glue dries.

6.  If you are adding glitter or any other overlays, add them now.

IMG_9407

Continue to apply uniform layers.

7.  When then the layer is dry it will turn from white to clear.  This should only take a few minutes since you applied a thin coat.  Then add another layer of Mod Podge to all tiles.  Remember to keep your brushstrokes in uniform direction.

8.  I repeat this layering process about 4 times, letting each layer dry (turn clear) in between each layer.

9.  Once you have completed your mod podge.  Let the tiles dry completely about 1 hour.  Time will vary depending on how thin/thick the Mod Podge was applied and also the temperature/humidity in your location.

10.  In a well ventilated area, spray the tiles with the high shine acrylic sealer.  (If you are using the marble tiles with matte mod lodge, skip this step.

11.  Let tiles dry completey before wrappinig or stacking! Each sealer has a different curing time; check yours for the appropriate number of hours/days it will take to dry.  (I leave mine out for 2 days just to be safe.)

12.  Apply rubber pads to back of coasters. Voila, you are finished!!

IMG_9463

Marble Matte Tiles

IDEAS

–  Put photos of family on each coaster.  Make a set of four as a gift for family or friends.  Wrap in a beautiful cellophane bag and tie with holiday ribbon.

–   For a dinner party, use a photo coaster as a table setting! Then let each guest take their coaster home with them as a favor.

–  Think of these as an accent coaster.  It does not have to be a set.  I make individual custom coasters to display on my coffee table  and bar for different holidays.

–   Consider making each coaster one letter of a four letter word, like LOVE or LIFE. You can use die cuts or stickers over paper.

IMG_9461

Photos from travel magazine on coasters

–  Write your own personal message on a beautiful piece of paper and apply to coaster.  What a great memento for a loved one!

–  Use monogrammed initials, stickers, etc to personalize.

IMG_9462

Completed coasters with cocktail napkin overlay

IMG_9460

My Instagram food photos on coasters

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Wow, what a fantastic idea!!! I love Mod Podge!! Years ago I was slathering it on everything going crazy making DIY gifts/crafts. I so want to make these as Christmas gifts. It would be fun do do with the children too.
    Ashley, I also needed to ask you a personal “glamour” question that I don’t want to post publically. If you email me I could ask and only of you are comfortable, perhaps you could answer my questions.
    Thanks for sharing your DIY craft.
    Peace & Raw Health,
    Elizabeth Marie

  2. Great ideas! Could you use a large tile and make a trivet in this way, or would the finish not hold up to a hot dish I wonder. 🙂 Thanks!

    • Hi Cathy! I do not think this type of Mod Podge would hold up to the extreme heat. That’s a really awesome question though! Let me do a little research on different types of Mod Podge (they make so many) I may can find a type of decoupage glue that will work for that, and I’ll test it first. That’s a great idea. I’ll get back with you.

    • Hey Cathy! My friend and I devised a plan that I believe will make this craft work for trivets. We decided that this could be done by using a clear glass tile. I would actually decoupage the photo underneath the tile, that way the hot pan doesn’t touch the Mod Podge. Hope that makes sense. I am going to work on one of these myself and do a post about it!

  3. If you wanted to make these truly waterproof and safe to place a hot cup of coffee, apply Envirotex Pour-on lite, instead of a spray on sealer, to make a glassy and hard surface. I make these a lot.

Leave a Reply

