Cranberry Pumpkin Parfaits

Raw Vegan Cranberry Pumpkin Parfaits! Salt, Oil, and Sugar FREE! www.LipstickandBerries.com

I am so happy to be living in a world with an autumn season! I love the rich warm colors, pumpkin scented candles, cozy fires, and all those delicious winter fruits and veggies.  Another reason to love autumn is because of these fabulous raw vegan pumpkin parfaits! These are a show stopper if I do say so myself!

This treat is 100% Raw Vegan Deliciousness!! As well as being very nutritious, it is free of processed ingredients which means it contains no oil or refined sugar!

This was my first time experimenting with raw pumpkin.  Raw pumpkin may sound strange, but its surprisingly perfect!!  It’s quite mild and sweet. Growing up in the southern United States (North Carolina!), I have it in my genetics to love home made pies, and especially pumpkin pie. I wanted to make a festive dessert that was reminiscent of the beautiful fall season back home, but that was much healthier.

The sweet, mild pumpkin pairs perfectly with the tart cranberries and the cashew cream is enhanced with fragrant fall spices.

I am very excited to share my Pumpkin Parfaits with you.  I hope you enjoy these during your holiday season!

Ingredients

Pumpkin Layer
-5 Cups chopped fresh pumpkin (this is about 1/2 of a medium sugar pie pumpkin, my whole pumpkin equalled 10 cups)
-3 Medjool Dates, pitted
-1/4 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
-1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
-1 & 1/2 Teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice

Cranberry Layer
-1 Cup Defrosted Cranberries
-1 Tablespoon Unsweetened Unfiltered Apple Juice
-1/2 Teaspoon Dried Orange Peel
-3 Medjool Dates, pitted
-3 Chunks Fresh Pineapple

Cashew Cream Layer
-1 Cup Raw Cashews
-1/2 Cup Unsweetened Vanilla Almond Milk
-3 Medjool Dates, pitted
-1/2 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract
-1 Teaspoon Allspice

Directions & Assembly: 

-Use a high powered blender (Vitamix) to blend each layer separately. 
-I used tall, slender parfait/shot glasses to display my parfaits. Start with pumpkin layer, then add the cranberries, then add a layer of chopped nuts (I used walnuts), and add the cashew cream as the last layer. I topped my parfaits with raw pumpkin seeds. 

***I think the cranberry layer would be a fabulous used alone as a healthy, raw, sugar-free cranberry relish for Thanksgiving!

sig-ash-grey

Leave a Reply

