Pumpkin Persimmon Pie

Vegan Pumpkin Persimmon Pie! Salt, Oil, and Sugar Free! www.LipstickandBerries.com

This pie is one of my favorite treats. It was inspired by Giada de Laurentiis’ Pumpkin Persimmon Pie.  I made her pie last year, before I was vegan, and it was such a great flavor combination that I knew I had to recreate it into a nutritious vegan version.  I think I could eat pumpkin and persimmons together forever!  They the perfect vegetable and fruit marriage!  I created a pumpkin seed crust that I thought was highly appropriate for this holiday pie!

Hachiya persimmons are a winter fruit originally native to China. They are fantastic for baking because they add stable moisture to baked goods. Persimmons contain Vitamin C, phyto-nutrients, and the important anti-tumor compound, betulinic acid.  (Too bad they aren’t available all year!)

This pie is so dense, creamy, and delightful.  I think that it’s much tastier than traditional pumpkin pies. I absolutely love it! Let your grandma try this, and I bet you’ll fool her that it’s vegan! It’ll be granny-approved!

If you like the idea of Pumpkin and Persimmons, I bet you will like my Pumpkin Persimmon Raw Tarts too!

Ingredients for Crust:

1/2 Cup Raw Pumpkin Seeds, unsalted

1/2 Cup Raw Almonds, unsalted

1/4 Cup Raisins

5 Medjool Dates, pitted

1/4 Cup Applesauce

Ingredients for Filling:

1 Cup 100% Pure Pumpkin

2  Hachiya Persimmons

1 & 1/2 Teaspoons Pumpkin Pie Spice

1 Tablespoon Vanilla Extract

1/4 Cup Almond Flour

3-4 Medjool Dates, pitted

1/2 Cup Cashews

1 Teaspoon Baking Soda

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

Directions

1. Soak Dates in water for 30 minutes.

2. Drain dates, then add all crust ingredients into a food processor and combine until finely chopped and a soft mound/ball forms.

3. Press Mixture into a non-stick pie pan.

4. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes.

5. While crust is baking, add all pie filling ingredients into vitamix and blend until smooth.

6. Once crust is out of oven, pour the filling into the pie and bake again at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. Cristina Trujillo says:

    This looks absolutely AMAZING!! I found this recipe a while ago, and have finally gotten around to making it this month! I was wondering, to blend all of the filling ingredients together, can I just use a food processor or blender? If appreciate the feedback 🙂

Leave a Reply

