Arugula and Figs with Cashew Ricotta

Healthy Vegan Simple Appetizer, Arugula & Figs with Cashew Ricotta!  www.LipstickandBerries.com

You have fallen upon the easiest and prettiest appetizer ever! Not only are these good for you, but they are so unique and gourmet that any party guest will think you’re a creative genius!! I don’t mind; you can take the credit!

This butterfly plate is actually a deviled egg platter. Since I don’t eat deviled eggs anymore, I thought I had no more use for this. What a waste of fabulous serving ware though.  I love my serving ware – it’s a part of me.  As I was munching on some fresh figs a light bulb went off! I thought, “Hey, these figs are the size of eggs! If I slice them they will fit perfectly like a deviled egg in my platter!” Then to be suitable for a party, I decided these figs needed a little added glamour! So I put my chef hat on, and whipped up some homemade cashew ricotta, and BAM, these cuties were born!

Figs are one fruit that I cannot get enough of.  Figs are abundant with Potassium and Fiber.  I could eat a whole dump truck load. There is nothing like the unique texture and taste of a fresh fig! My sweet friend Linda, who lives in Texas, has a beautiful fig tree in her backyard.  I remember she invited me over to her home one evening and we ate fresh figs and sipped champagne all night. What an extraordinary evening! We ate so many figs – at least 30 of them each, hahaha. Talk about a monomeal!

Changing over to a vegan WFPBD (whole foods plant based diet) has been an exciting new beginning for me.  I went from someone who NEVER cooked, to now someone who is now creating my own recipes.  Whole Fruits and Vegetables are so inspiring! I hope these inspire you too!

Ingredients

Fresh Figs

Baby Arugula

1 and 1/2 Cup Raw Cashews, unsalted

1/2 Cup Water

1 Tablespoon Apple Cider Vinegar

1 Tablespoon Lemon Juice

1/2 Teaspoon Chopped Garlic

1 and 1/2 Tablespoons Nutritional Yeast

1/4 Teaspoon Dried Granulated Onion

Directions

Blend all ingredients (except arugula and figs) together in high powdered blender or vitamix and puree until smooth. If you do not have a Vitamix, you may need to soak the cashews in water for about 4 hours first. 

sig-ash-grey

Comments

  1. After ingredients are blended, are figs simply topped with the mix? Any baking involved?

Leave a Reply

