All-Fruit Sushi

Raw Vegan All-Fruit Sushi!  www.LipstickandBerries.com

I was so thrilled to create this 100% fruit sushi edible art! It’s fun, healthy and pretty simple to make.

I am definitely making this for my next dinner party! Hmmm…Asian themed…yes, that’s it! Even better…a Chinese New Year celebration! I love dinner parties! Once you get to know me better, you’ll also find out how much I love asians 🙂 I love the Asian culture, I love asian cuisine, asian fruits, foot massage-ey. (Inside joke for those that know me!)

Lucky for me, living in Las Vegas has it asian perks! We have an awesome Chinatown.  Steve Wynn’s hotels cater to the asian clientele (and me!) with his top notch Cantonese restaurants.  Also the Mandarin Oriental offers an asian influenced afternoon tea. My girlfriend, Amy, and I actually had ourselves an “Asian Day!” We went all out.  First we had morning yoga, then we had Dim Sum (traditional asian brunch of dumplings and jasmine tea; dim sum means “touch the heart”), next was our stop at the $20 foot massage joint (and its totally legit, get your head outta the gutter!).  After that she and I went shopping for kimono robes in chinatown and to finish our exceptional day we had dinner at Steve Wynn’s Red 8 Cantonese lounge.  It was pretty much one of the coolest days ever.

www.LipstickandBerries.com

Amy and I trying on our kimono robes!

Our next asian day is going to involve this raw vegan fruit sushi.  Enjoy – pretty food is more fun!

Ingredients

1/2 Banana

1/2 Cup Shredded Coconut, unsweetened

1 & 1/4  Cup Uncooked, Gluten-Free, Old Fashioned Oats

1/2 Cup Raw Cashews, soaked for a couple hours

1 Teaspoon Pure Vanilla Extract

Fruits for “sushi topping” (I used sliced grape, white peach, mango, strawberry, red plum, kiwi, raspberry)

Directions

1.  Add the banana, coconut, oats, cashews and vanilla into the food processor or Vitamix and blend until mixed thoroughly. Spread mixture out on plate and chill in refrigerator for at least 30 minutes.

2. After the mixture has chilled then shape it into desired “sushi rice” shapes.

3. Choose your fruit for topping. I found that the inside of a white peach and the red plum when sliced very thing look SO similar to sashimi fish!

Note: A creamy fruit dipping sauce would be delicious with this sushi!

sig-ash-grey

Leave a Reply

